Accessing National Fire Academy Certificates or Funding for NFFF Programs

The Foundation has spent considerable time and effort to include Courage to Be Safe® (CTBS) and Leadership, Accountability, Culture, Knowledge (LACK) on the approved course list at the National Fire Academy (NFA). Both CTBS and LACK have been accepted and added to this “approved course” list. This allows the state fire training agency to utilize the NFA annual grant funds to offer these programs and provide NFA certificates for these programs as well. The following course identification numbers have been assigned NFA:

  • CTBS is Y0581
  • LACK is Y0580

For a state to utilize the National Fire Academy funds to deliver Courage to Be Safe® (CTBS) and Leadership, Accountability, Culture, Knowledge (LACK), the department or agency wishing the training shall contact the lead advocate for the Everyone Goes Home® Program in that state. The lead advocate will contact the training agency that handles the grants for the National Fire Academy. The training agency will assist in securing the resources requested (either funding through the state’s NFA annual grant, or how to ascertain NFA certificates). The grant funding will only be approved if the funds are available.

It is recommended that the lead advocate secure the appropriate contact information for the state training agency’s point of contact for administering their NFA approved programs. For states with a memorandum of understanding (MOU) with the National Fallen Firefighters Foundation, this protocol is already in place, as the agency handles the training of the Foundation with the Lead Advocate. As of March 1, 2014 the following states have such MOUs:

  • Alabama
  • Iowa
  • Illinois
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Missouri
  • New Hampshire
  • Oregon